Praxis Test Review

The PRAXIS I exam is required to receive professional licensure for teacher certification and is created by the Educational Testing Service (ETS). The PRAXIS I or PPST means Pre-Professional Skills Tests. The PRAXIS I exam contains reading, mathematics and writing.


The PRAXIS I tests are designed to be one of the final hurdles in your student career. Students may take any part of the PRAXIS I exam separately or with another section. Over 44 states require the PRAXIS I to be taken by students seeking a teaching certification. In addition, the PRAXIS I can be taken approximately eight times during a calendar year. The questions focus on your ability to make decisions about relationships in data, sentence structure errors, and paragraph organization. The PRAXIS I test requires that you understand the basic principles of Math and English and apply this to your academic skills.

PRAXIS Testing Tips

Many struggle with limited funding and the overwhelming task of studying to pass the PRAXIS. This website has been created to help students overcome the challenge of the PRAXIS I test. The key PRAXIS I testing tips are stated as follows:

  1. Don't take all three sections at the same time if you want to focus on one content area.
  2. Prioritize: Focus on your areas of greatest weakness. You have to make a passing score on each section of the exam. Passing with a 90th percentile on the math will not help you with the written part of the PRAXIS I exam.
  3. Review for each section of the PRAXIS I separately.
  4. Limit your stress level before the PRAXIS I exam.

PRAXIS Information

The hours of studying and the class work finally pay off when you pass the PRAXIS I. You are then free to teach and you have highly sought after job skills.

Please take the time to review all of the articles written about the PRAXIS I exam and the pitfalls that some students fall into with the PRAXIS I test. Hopefully you can avoid the mistakes others have made when preparing for the PRAXIS I and will find the following information to be helpful and informative for the PRAXIS I test.


The Praxis II series is a group of tests offered by ETS. These exams help licensing boards assess test takers interested in becoming certified or licensed teachers. There are three different types of Praxis II exams: Teaching Foundation Tests, Subject Assessments and Principles of Learning and Teaching Tests (PLT).

PRAXIS I Practice Test (PDF File) | PRAXIS II Directory

PRAXIS test blueprint and breakdown

Video Review

Last Updated: 08/05/2014